Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Sogno di Stabat Mater” by Lera Auerbach Receives Swedish Premiere

By order of Gidon Kremer, the Russian-American composer Lera Auerbach made an abridged adaptation of her 2005 work “Dialogues with Stabat Mater” in 2008. This briefer version entitled “Sogno di Stabat Mater” for violin, viola, vibraphone and string orchestra (based on Pergolesi) was given its world premiere on 18 September 2009 at the Stadthalle in Braunschweig. The Kremerata Baltica performed under the direction of Gidon Kremer.

On 11 June 2016, Hugo Ticciati (director and violin) and the O/Modərnt Kammarorkester will present the Swedish premiere of “Sogno di Stabat Mater” during the course of the festival ‚O/MODƏRNT‘ in Stockholm.

Lera Auerbach has supplied the following comments on the original version:
“My ‘Dialogues on Stabat Mater’ are an experiment. On the one hand, I attempted to re-write selected movements from Pergolesi’s famous masterwork into a kind of concerto grosso for violin, viola and chamber orchestra whilst remaining true to the spirit of the original work, so that an abstract instrumental piece could be made out of a sacred vocal work. On the other hand, I hoped to create a kind of framework in this manner, a dialogue, a new perspective on a well-known subject. And in this dialogue I did not so much want to proceed from the aesthetic differences in culture and harmonic language between the 18th and 21st centuries, but rather from their similarities which, incidentally, are much more fascinating. The image of a suffering mother is universal – like pain, even though the forms of expression may differ according to the religious or cultural background.
“A dialogue can take place on different levels. Is it a dialogue between mother and child, beginning and end, musician and public, soli and tutti, understanding and desolation? Or is the difference between vocal and purely instrumental, between sacred and everyday language, between monologue and dialogue perhaps not so great? Every prayer is a dialogue, even if the person being addressed is not present. And whom am I addressing with my work?”

11 June 2016
Ulriksdals Castle Theatre, 6 PM
Swedish premiere: Lera Auerbach
“Sogno di Stabat Mater” for violin, viola, vibraphone and string orchestra
O/Modərnt Kammarorkester
Hugo Ticciati (direction and violin)


» Show all news