Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Schwindende Schönheit”: New Work by Franghiz Ali-Zadeh Given World Premiere

During the course of the concert series “sonorizzonte”, Andreas Ticozzi (viola d’amore), Jessica Kuhn (baroque cello), Rie Watanabe (percussion) and Mirjam Schröder (harp) will perform the world premiere of Franghiz Ali-Zadeh’s new work “Schwindende Schönheit” (Disappearing Beauty) for viola d’amore, baroque cello, percussion and harp at Nymphenburg Palace in Munich on 11 March 2016.

The work “Schwindende Schönheit” was completed in 2015 in response to a commission from “sonorizzonte” and sponsored by the Cultural Department of the state capital Munich.

The composer commented on “Schwindende Schönheit” in early 2016 as follows:
“We are currently living in a time in which entire civilisations, cultures and states are perishing. Baghdad - the actual hero from the ‘Tales of 1001 Nights’ - has been lost for ever; manuscripts and exhibits from the Baghdad museums have been destroyed. The city of Aleppo, in which the magnificent poet and Sufi Imameddin Nasimi was buried, was bombed. It was in this city that Yo-Yo Ma once performed my piece ‘Ask Havasi’ as part of the transcontinental project ‘Silk Road’ and enthusiastically related his impressions of this splendid city, which now irretrievably belongs to the past.
Another devastating event is the destruction of the ancient oasis city of Palmyra (in Homs) - a mystical beauty the widely varied illustrations of which were present in our geography and history books for many years. I had always hoped to travel there and see Palmyra one day. This will no longer be possible, for Palmyra has disappeared for ever. I wonder how many more cultural treasures will disappear. When will we reach the end of this series of tragedies? My work ‘Schwindende Schönheit’, written for the Munich ensemble ‘sonorizzonte’, deals with this question.”

11 March 2016
Nymphenburg Palace, Johannissaal, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Franghiz Ali-Zadeh
“Schwindende Schönheit” for viola d’amore,
baroque cello, percussion and harp
Andreas Ticozzi (viola d’amore)
Jessica Kuhn (baroque cello)
Rie Watanabe (percussion)
Mirjam Schröder (harp)


» Show all news