Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere: “Raegs [Dance]” by Franghiz Ali-Zadeh in San Francisco

The world premiere of Franghiz Ali-Zadeh’s new String Quartet “Raegs (Dance)” will be given at the “Opening Night!” of this year’s Kronos Festival on 4 February 2016 in San Francisco. The Kronos Quartet, who commissioned the work from the Azerbaijani composer, will present this recently completed chamber work at Miner Auditorium of the SFJAZZ Center.

The composer Franghiz Ali-Zadeh comments on her work as follows:
“RAEGS means ‘dance’ in Azerbaijani as well as in all other Turkic languages. In Azerbaijan, many different dances have existed since time immemorial: for men and women, heroic and lyric, fast and slow. And the tradition of accompanying all important life events with all kinds of dances has been preserved to the present day: engagements and weddings, harvest and farewells, birthdays and even dates of death. There are also burial dances that accompany the farewell to the deceased person. In this respect, the dance tradition remains very strong and current in Azerbaijan today, especially in rural areas. In my new piece for the Kronos Quartet, I have attempted to reflect some of the rhythms and configurations of Azerbaijani dances.

4 February 2016
San Francisco
SFJAZZ Center, Miner Auditorium, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Franghiz Ali-Zadeh
“Raegs (Dance)” for string quartet
Kronos Quartet


» Show all news