Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

New Piano Piece by Johannes X. Schachtner

The world premiere of a new piano piece by Johannes X. Schachtner entitled “sehn-sucht” (longing) will be performed by the pianist Mirjam Kraupe on 4 November 2015 in the Old Concert Hall of the University of Vienna.

The composer describes his work “sehn-sucht” as follows:
“The German term ‘Sehn-sucht’ transmits a special message with its two components — in contrast to the corresponding words in English or in Romance languages. In Grimm’s dictionary, an illness is even mentioned in connection with it. The immanent intensity of this word has fascinated me for a long time.
I experience the initial descending thirds in Brahms’s Op. 119 No. 1 as a musical realisation of this profoundly romantic feeling. My piano work ‘sehn-sucht’ uses this supply of tones as a sonic space in which the piano traces this feeling, this restless urge: searching for the ‘concentration of the energy of longing’, for a ‘religion of abeyance’, as dreamt of by Clemens Brentano.”

4 November 2015
University, Old Concert Hall, 4 PM
World premiere: Johannes X. Schachtner
“sehn-sucht” for piano
Mirjam Kraupe (piano)


» Show all news