Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Austrian Premiere: “Bridges” by Gerald Resch in Vienna

On 12 November 2015 the cellist Wolfgang Panhofer will perform the Austrian premiere of Gerald Resch’s interventions to the 6 Solo Suites for Violoncello by Johann Sebastian Bach entitled “Bridges” for violoncello (selection of the interventions) at the St. Rupert’s Church in Vienna.

Arne-Christian Pelz, solo cellist of the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra, was the soloist of the world premiere in 2014. He performed these interludes at two concerts (29 November and 19 December) at the Wälderhaus Wilhelmsburg in Hamburg. “Bridges” was commissioned by the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra especially for this cyclic performance.

Organizer of the concert entitled “CELLO RECITAL” on 12 November 2015 is the Österreichische Gesellschaft für zeitgenössische Musik (Austrian Society for Contemporary Music).

Gerald Resch comments on his work as follows:
“The Hamburg Symphony Orchestra commissioned me to compose interludes to the 6 Cello Suites of Johann Sebastian Bach for their solo cellist Arne-Christian Pelz. These ‘Bridges’ are intended to lead from one suite to the next, but without attempting to enter into competition with Bach’s music (…).”

12 November 2015
St. Rupert’s Church, 7:30 PM
Austrian premiere: Gerald Resch
“Bridges” for violoncello solo (selection)
Wolfgang Panhofer (violoncello)


» Show all news