Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Triptych” by Krzysztof Meyer now in Belgium

Krzysztof Meyer composed his Concerto for guitar, tympani and strings for the Polish guitarist Łukasz Kuropaczewski in 2011. The “Triptych” for guitar solo is his second piece for this interpreter. Łukasz Kuropaczewski will perform the Belgian premiere of this work, dedicated to him, at the Deurne Cultural Centre during the Antwerp Guitar Festival (Antwerpen Gitaar Festival) on 27 November 2015.

This work was given its world premiere on 23 July 2015 in Katonah (New York) at the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts. Here, too, the soloist was Łukasz Kuropaczewski.

The composer on “Triptych”:
“I already wrote the Concerto for Guitar, Tympani and Strings for the outstanding Polish guitarist Łukasz Kuropaczewski. The ‘Triptych’ for guitar solo is my second work for this interpreter. The individual titles of the ‘Triptych’ movements - Fantasia, Aria and Impromptu furioso – refer to the characters of the individual movements.
I completed ‘Triptych’ for guitar solo in December 2014. The piece is permeated by double contrasts: in terms of harmony, the guitar’s own mood and sound world are contrasted with my harmonic thinking. In terms of technique, on the other hand, performance gestures of the Flamenco tradition are contrasted with those of the practice of classical guitar playing. The dialogue between different harmonic and historical levels can thus be discovered through a complex, clearly demarcated discourse. The performance duration of the work is about 15 minutes.”

27 November 2015
Culture Centre Deurne, 8 PM
Belgian premiere: Krzysztof Meyer
“Triptych” for guitar solo
Łukasz Kuropaczewski (guitar)


» Show all news