Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Glière, Reinhold

*30.12.1874
†23.06.1956

Reinhold Moritzevich Glière (1874-1956), the son of an instrument builder, was born in Kiev and learned the violin at an early age. In 1891 he entered the music school in Kiev, then studied with M. Ippolitov-Ivanov (orchestration), A. Arensky (composition) and S. Taneiev (counterpoint) at the Moscow Conservatory from 1894 until 1900. Between 1905 and 1907 he received additional training in conducting from O. Fried in Berlin, then was active as a conductor in Russia from 1908 onwards.

Glière taught at the Kiev Conservatory from 1913 onwards and from 1920-41 at the Moscow Conservatory. His most famous pupils were Sergei Prokofiev, Nikolai Miaskovsky and Nikolai Rakov. In Moscow he attained public renown for his artistic, pedagogic and political commitment. He received numerous state awards for his services to national musical culture, including his lasting furtherance of choirs and his research into and collecting of folk music, especially that of the Trans-Caucasian and Central Asian peoples.

Glière's compositions at first relate to the national Russian school, also incorporating impressionistic stylistic influences. Later, his extensive oeuvre was strongly influenced by the productive confrontation with the folk music of the non-European Soviet Republics. Glière contributed to Soviet dance theatre with his popular ballet "Krasy mak" (Red Poppies), based on a current "revolutionary" topic.

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Glière, Reinhold

*30.12.1874
†23.06.1956

Reinhold Morizewitsch Glière wurde als Sohn eines Instrumentenbauers in Kiew geboren und erlernte frühzeitig das Violinspiel. Seit 1891 besuchte er die Musikschule in Kiew und studierte 1894-1900 am Moskauer Konservatorium u.a. bei M. Ippolitow-Iwanow (Instrumentation), A. Arenski (Komposition) und S. Tanejew (Kontrapunkt). Zwischen 1905 und 1907 ließ er sich in Berlin bei O. Fried zum Dirigenten ausbilden und wirkte seit 1908 als Orchesterleiter in Russland.

Glière lehrte seit 1913 am Kiewer, 1920-41 am Moskauer Konservatorium. Zu seinen bekanntesten Schülern zählen Sergej Prokofjew, Nikolai Mjaskowski und Nikolai Rakow. In Moskau gelangte er aufgrund seines künstlerischen, pädagogischen und politischem Engagements zu öffentlichem Ruhm. Er empfing zahlreiche staatliche Auszeichnungen für seine Verdienste um die nationale Musikkultur, für die nachdrückliche Förderung des Chorwesens sowie für seine Untersuchungen und Sammlungen der Volksmusik, insbesondere derjenigen transkaukasischer und mittelasiatischer Völker.

Glières Kompositionen knüpfen zunächst an die nationalrussische Schule an, nehmen dann aber auch impressionistische Stileinflüsse auf. Später wurde sein umfangreiches OEuvre wesentlich von der produktiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Volksmusik der außereuropäischen Sowjetrepubliken geprägt. Dem sowjetischen Tanztheater erschloss Glière mit seinem populären Ballett Krasny mak (Roter Mohn) eine aktuelle „revolutionäre“ Thematik.