Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Munzlinger, Manuel

Manuel Munzlinger was born in Berlin and studied the oboe there at the University of the Arts. As a composer, he has enriched the repertoire of his instrument with witty works full of the joy of playing. His predilection for the synthesis of classical music and elements from jazz, rock and pop music have opened up unimagined possibilities for the oboe in this entertaining genre.

Alongside the orchestral suite Ein musikalischer Campingkloß dedicated to the satirist Loriot and several chamber works, e.g. the Australian Jazz Trio for two oboes and English horn and the Suite de Philharmonixx for oboe, bassoon and percussion, he has written several virtuoso oboe concertos, e.g. the Jazz Concerto for oboe a strings and the double concertos inspired by the television series ‘The Simpsons’ entitled D’oh! and Eat the Pudding, Eat the Pudding for oboe, obligato harpsichord and strings.

He has always performed the solo part at the world premieres of his works. Critics praise the high level and exceptional virtuosity of Munzlinger’s compositions. He is highly regarded as a humorous crossover specialist.

 

» Homepage of Manuel Munzlinger

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Munzlinger, Manuel

Manuel Munzlinger wurde in Berlin geboren und studierte dort Oboe an der Universität der Künste. Als Komponist bereichert er das Repertoire seines Instrumentes mit geistreichen Werken voller Spielfreude. Seine Vorliebe für die Synthese von Klassik und Elementen aus Jazz-, Rock- und Popmusik eröffnen ungeahnte Möglichkeiten der Oboe in diesem unterhaltsamen Genre.

Neben der dem Satiriker Loriot gewidmeten Orchester-Suite Ein musikalischer Campingkloß und mehreren Kammermusikwerken, z. B. dem Australian Jazz Trio für zwei Oboen und Englischhorn und der Suite de Philharmonixx für Oboe, Fagott und Schlagzeug, schrieb er mehrere virtuose Oboenkonzerte, z. B. das Jazz Concerto für Oboe und Streicher und die durch die Fernsehserie ,The Simpsons‘ inspirierten Doppelkonzerte D‘oh! und Eat the Pudding, Eat the Pudding für Oboe, obligates Cembalo und Streicher.

Bei allen Erstaufführungen trat er auch stets selbst als Solist auf. Kritiker loben bei Munzlingers Kompositionen das hohe Niveau und die außergewöhnliche Virtuosität. Er gilt als humorvoller Crossover-Spezialist.

 

» Homepage von Manuel Munzlinger