Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Suslin, Viktor

*13.06.1942
10.07.2012

Viktor Suslin studied composition with Nikolai Peyko (also Sofia Gubaidulina’s composition teacher) and piano with Anatoly Vedernikov at the Gnessin Institute in Moscow. He began working independently at a point in time when Brezhnev brought the political-cultural “thaw” to an abrupt end in 1964. Official performance bans accumulated, affecting Suslin’s works no less than those of his older colleagues and ultimately causing him to emigrate to Germany in 1981.

He worked as a publisher’s lector in Hamburg and academy lecturer in Lübeck. Suslin became Director of Belaieff Publishers in 2007. He lived in Appen near Hamburg. In character, Suslin is more of a lyricist than a dramatist. He avoids simple contrasts and extraneously dramaturgical effects. Although most of his works have programmatic titles, they do not aim to convey extra-musical meaning.

His catalogue of works is not particularly large but has great variety. Since he avoids repeating himself, each new work is uniquely striking in regard to compositional technique. Timbre and colour in music have formative meaning for Suslin.

Viktor Suslin died on 10 July 2012.

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Suslin, Viktor

*13.06.1942
10.07.2012

Viktor Suslin studierte am Moskauer Gnessin-Institut Komposition bei Nikolai Pejko, dem Kompositionslehrer von Sofia Gubaidulina, und Klavier bei Anatoli Wedernikow. Er begann, zu einem Zeitpunkt selbständig zu arbeiten, als das politisch-kulturelle „Tauwetter” durch Breschnew im Oktober 1964 ein jähes Ende fand. Es häuften sich offizielle Aufführungsverbote, die seine Werke nicht weniger trafen als die seiner älteren Kollegen und die ihn 1981 schließlich zur Emigration nach Deutschland bewegten.

Hier arbeitete er als Verlagslektor in Hamburg und Hochschuldozent in Lübeck. Seit 2007 leitete Suslin den Belaieff-Verlag. Er lebte in Appen bei Hamburg. Dem Charakter nach ist Suslin eher ein Lyriker als ein Dramatiker. In seinen Werken vermeidet er simple Kontraste und aufgesetzte dramaturgische Effekte. Obwohl die meisten seiner Werke programmatische Titel tragen, zielen sie nicht auf Außermusikalisches.

Sein Werkverzeichnis ist nicht besonders umfangreich, aber sehr vielfältig. Da er das Reproduzieren vermeidet, fällt jedes neue Werk auch in kompositionstechnischer Hinsicht sehr individuell aus. Das Timbre und die Farbigkeit der Musik haben für Suslin formbildende Bedeutung.

Viktor Suslin verstarb am 10. Juli 2012.