Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Qin, Wenchen


Wenchen Qin studied at the composition at the Conservatory in Shanghai with Xu Shuya and Zhu Jianer beginning in 1987. After completing his studies in 1992 he taught at the Central Conservatory in Beijing. A stipend from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) enabled him to study with Nicolaus A. Huber in 1998, and three years later he received his diploma with honours from the Folkwang Academy in Essen. He has been teaching again at the Central Conservatory in Beijing since September 2001.

Qin works with excellent ensembles such as the Ensemble Recherche, L’Ensemble Itinéraire, Ensemble Europa Antidogma, Tokyo City Symphony Orchestra, the RSO Berlin und the Ensemble of Line. Organisers have been the NDR, WDR, BR, Radio France as well as festivals such as the New Music Biennale in Hanover, the Holland Festival, the Transatlantic Festival and the Chinese-Japanese Music Festival.

Qin is one of the most important composers of his generation. With the partial inclusion of traditional Chinese instruments, he creates an individual bridge between Chinese tradition and Western avant-garde. His musical language combines subtle, intensive and differentiated sounds with exciting courses of development.

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Qin, Wenchen

*29.10.1966

Wenchen Qin studierte am Konservatorium in Shanghai ab 1987 Komposition bei Xu Shuya und Zhu Jianer. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums im Jahr 1992 unterrichtete er am Zentralen Konservatorium in Beijing. Ein Stipendium des DAAD ermöglichte ihm 1998 einen Studienaufenthalt bei Nicolaus A. Huber, und drei Jahre darauf konnte er sein Diplom mit Auszeichnung an der Folkwang Hochschule Essen entgegennehmen. Seit September 2001 unterrichtet er wieder am Zentralen Konservatorium in Beijing.

Qin arbeitet mit exzellenten Ensembles wie dem Ensemble Recherche, L’Ensemble Itinéraire, Ensemble Europa Antidogma, Tokyo City Symphony Orchestra, dem RSO Berlin und dem Ensemble of Line zusammen. Veranstalter waren der NDR, der WDR, der BR, Radio France sowie Festivals wie die Biennale Neue Musik in Hannover, das Hollandfestival, das Transatlantic Festival und das Chinese-Japanese Music Festival.

Qin zählt zu den wichtigsten Komponisten seiner Generation. Unter teilweiser Einbeziehung des traditionellen chinesischen Instrumentariums schlägt er eine individuelle Brücke zwischen chinesischer Tradition und westlicher Avantgarde. Seine Musiksprache verbindet feinsinnige, intensive und ausdifferenzierte Klänge mit spannungsreichen Entwicklungsverläufen.