Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Meyer, Krzysztof

*11.08.1943

Krzysztof Meyer first graduated from the Chopin Music High School in Krakow, then studied composition with Krzysztof Penderecki and music theory at the Music Academy there, completing his studies with honours in 1965. During the years 1964, 1966 and 1968 he studied several months of the year in France with Nadia Boulanger.

From 1966 until 1987 Meyer taught music-theoretical subjects at the Krakow Music Academy and held the professorship in music theory from 1975 until 1987. Since 1987 he has been Professor at the Music Academy in Cologne, where he leads a master class in composition. He was Chairman of the Polish Composers’ Union from 1985 until 1989. Meyer is a member of the Free Academy of the Arts in Mannheim.

Krzysztof Meyer, whose musical roots are in East European neoclassicism, is firmly convinced that the time has come again to think about a new kind of melodic and harmonic language. The melodic primordial cell as the germ for the formal design of the individual work is characteristic of his music. Meyer, who was also personally acquainted with Dmitri Shostakovich and wrote one of the most important Shostakovich biographies, is, moreover, a master of instrumentation.

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Meyer, Krzysztof

*11.08.1943

Krzysztof Meyer absolvierte zunächst das Chopin-Musikgymnasium in Krakau und studierte sodann Komposition bei Krzysztof Penderecki und Musiktheorie an der dortigen Musikhochschule, die er 1965 mit Auszeichnung abschloss. In den Jahren 1964, 1966 und 1968 studierte er jeweils für einige Monate in Frankreich bei Nadia Boulanger.

Von 1966 bis 1987 unterrichtete Meyer musiktheoretische Fächer an der Krakauer Musikhochschule, von 1975 bis 1987 hatte er den Musiktheorie-Lehrstuhl inne. Seit1987 ist er Professor an der Musikhochschule in Köln, wo er eine Meisterklasse für Komposition leitet. Von 1985 bis 1989 war er Vorsitzender des Polnischen Komponistenverbandes. Meyer ist Mitglied der Freien Akademie der Künste in Mannheim.

Krzysztof Meyer, dessen musikalische Wurzeln im osteuropäischen Neoklassizismus liegen, ist davon überzeugt, dass wieder die Zeit gekommen ist, um über eine neue Art von Melodik und Harmonik nachzudenken. Die melodische Urzelle als Keim für die formale Gestaltung des einzelnen Werks ist prägend für seine Musik. Meyer, der unter anderem persönlich mit Dmitri Schostakowitsch bekannt war und eine der wichtigsten Schostakowitsch-Biographien vorgelegt hat, ist zudem ein Meister der Instrumentation.