Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Kelemen, Milko

*30.03.1924

Milko Kelemen studied with Olivier Messiaen in Paris and with Wolfgang Fortner in Freiburg. He then worked at the “Electronic Siemens-Studio” in Munich. Already in 1959 he founded the “Zagreb Biennale,” of which he was President during the early 1960s – today he is its Honorary President.

From 1970 until 1973 he was a Professor at the Robert Schumann Institute in Düsseldorf. Between 1973 and 1989 he was Professor of Composition at the Stuttgart Academy of Music and the Performing Arts. With C. G. Jung as his point of departure, Kelemen underpins his musical language with philosophical thoughts.

He attempts to make the complexity of new music more transparent through “complicated simplicity.” The novelty of organisation of the musical material, he says, should not be an end in itself. Novel formation can also be attained with musical “archetypes” which must not necessarily be subjected to the diction of more complicated compositional techniques.

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Kelemen, Milko

*30.03.1924

Milko Kelemen studierte bei Olivier Messiaen in Paris und bei Wolfgang Fortner in Freiburg. Danach arbeitete er im „Elektronischen Siemens-Studio” in München. Bereits im Jahr 1959 gründete er die „Zagreber Biennale”, deren Präsident er in den frühen 60er Jahren wurde – heute ist er ihr Ehrenpräsident.

Von 1970 bis 1973 hatte er eine Professur am Robert-Schumann-Institut in Düsseldorf inne. Zwischen 1973 und 1989 war er als Professor für Komposition an der Stuttgarter Hochschle für Musik und darstellende Kunst tätig. Ausgehend von C. G. Jung untermauert Kelemen seine Musiksprache mit philosophischen Gedanken.

Er versucht, durch „komplizierte Einfachheit” die Komplexität Neuer Musik transparenter zu machen. Die Neuartigkeit der Organisation des musikalischen Materials, so sagt er, solle kein Selbstzweck sein. Neuartige Gestaltung könne auch mit musikalischen „Archetypen” erreicht werden, die nicht zwingend der Diktion komplizierter Kompositionstechniken unterliegen müssten.