Catalogue search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Krzysztof Meyer: “Six Intermezzi” [Sei intermezzi]

“My musical education began with piano instruction, as with most composers of my generation in Central Europe. This interest in the piano has a quite obvious origin: I have been playing the instrument since my childhood and have meanwhile mastered it enough to appear in public as a pianist. Thus for many years I wrote my piano compositions for myself, whilst other pianists took them up in their repertoires only over the course of time. So not only piano sonatas have been written, but also chamber music with piano (2 Cello Sonatas, Piano Trio, Piano Quartets, Piano Quintet, etc.)

I finished the ‘Sei intermezzi’ in 2013. In this cycle, I wanted to give the interpreter the opportunity to present himself/herself both with technical virtuosity and with sonic beauty in the traditional sense of the word. This ‘beautiful tone’ is basically indispensible in all pieces. The Intermezzi form a cycle that conjures up the spirit of classical piano music without engaging itself in the traditional constraints associated with it.”

(Krzysztof Meyer)


» More information / shopping cart